shopshost.blogg.se

Vmware mac os x image on actual mac
Vmware mac os x image on actual mac








Vmware mac os x image on actual mac mac os#

Plus I get an actual *nix environment, not a Mac OS environment with *nix tools that are years out of date. I actually prefer it to my actual, real-life Mac (a 2017 MBP 13"), because even with a VM and a Linux host running simulatenously, and both being pushed hard, I still get better battery life on my Dell.

vmware mac os x image on actual mac

I'd heartily recommend it for iOS development. You'll need to edit a couple VirtualBox config files (simple to do, just a couple of plain text files that you add a couple lines to) to enable Mac support on non-Mac hardware. Stuff like iMessages and Continuity won't work properly. Updates to Mac OS can break things, but they are easy to fix again, and unlike a Hackintosh, you have snapshots to rollback to in case you've borken something. I could use VMWare Player but then I miss snapshot support. I don't have a VMWare license any more, so I use VirtualBox nowawadays. It works beautifully on both VirtualBox and VMWare. I've done it on Thinkpads, and I'm doing it currently on my Dell Latitude 7280. I'm sure Google will tell you if you ask it nicely. I was just playing with it so I never tried logging in with an Apple ID or anything more complicated (like enabling 3d acceleration in the VM and seeing what performance would be like for graphical applications), so no idea how all that works. Performance was perfectly decent for non-graphical apps. The Mac Store appeared to work fine, as did installation of MacOS updates.

vmware mac os x image on actual mac

I was curious so tested this for a laugh. Then you just have to obtain an appropriate VM image (also easily found via Google) or build your own. Once you have VMware Player installed and patched appropriately, you will find MacOS suddenly appears as a valid client OS option. I assume the same is possible with Player for Linux, but didn't actually look for that myself. If you hunt around on internet you can find a way to revise VMware Player for Windows (free) to also support MacOS as a valid client OS. VMware supports MacOS as a valid client OS within Fusion. I read up on this at one point last year.








Vmware mac os x image on actual mac